LUKE 18:22

Matthew 16:24, “Then Jesus said to his disciples, ‘Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.’”

Verse of the Day Luke  18:22

It’s easy to assume Jesus is simply talking about money. We could be tempted to label this a story for “those” people — the ones we think have more money than they know what to do with. But the words in this conversation are for every single one of us. But what Jesus is really getting at is: What holds the key to your heart?

Jesus could be referring to anything that takes attention from him and the Gospel. It could be anything you spend to much time on such as Work, Sports, Social Media, Drinking even kids activities and of course money. Anything that consumes our lives.

We are instructed to give Everything to Jesus. Everything you have. Everything you own. Everything you hope for. Everything you fear. Everything you love. Everything you dream. We are to say It’s all Yours, Jesus. I trust You in completely and  we are to abandon things of this world and focus on Christ.

Because the life that follows Jesus with abandon is the life that gets to experience His presence, His provision, His promises, His soul-satisfying abundance.

Pray this Prayer

Father God, please forgive me for all of the times I have settled for lesser things. I want to want You most. Today, I am handing You the key to my heart. The key to everything in my life. I love You. I need You. And I want to follow hard after You. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

